Spectroscopic determination of the Boltzmann constant


The Bolztmann constant kB is one of the fundamental constant in physics. Its current CODATA value is 1.380 648 8(13)×10-23 J/K, with a relative uncertainty of 0.91 ppm. The international organization CIPM plans to define kB with a constant value of no errors, and use this constant to redefine the temperature unit Kelvin, thus replacing the present definition based on the triple point of water. In order to avoid unaccounted systematic errors of a singular method, CIPM requires that the planned new definition of kB must be based on by two independent methods of determination. However, the current level of uncertainty is overwhelmingly due to the acoustic method AGT. Meanwhile, spectroscopic methods based on Doppler broadening of atomic or molecular absorption lines are being developed. Under thermal equilibrium, the absorption lines of low-pressure gas molecules have a Doppler-broadened width (FWHM):

$$\omega_{D}=\nu_{0}\sqrt{\frac{8k_{B}Tln2}{mc^{2}}}$$
Here ν0 is the center frequency, T is the temperature of the gas, m is the mass of the molecule, and c is the speed of light. A precision measurement of the width at the triple point of water promises to determine kB with an uncertainty of ppm or even better.

Conventional laser spectroscopy detects an absorption line based on Beer’s absorption law: I = I0exp[-α(ν) L] , and the line width is determined by fitting the line shape α(ν). As for ro-vibrational transitions of molecules, in order to achieve the required absorption sensitivity, the gas pressure needs to be considerably high (~102 Pa), resulting in relatively complex line shape due to collisions. So far, no models of collision-induced lineshape have achieved the ppm-level of accuracy. Electronic transitions are strong and could be detected at very low pressures. However due to the interference from stray electronic and/or magnetic fields, hyperfine splitting, and power broadening effects, there are tremendous challenges in determining the accurate Doppler width.

Cavity Ring-Down Spectroscopy (CRDS) uses the ring-down time to measure light absorption:

$$\alpha(\nu)=\frac{1}{c\tau(\nu)}-\frac{1}{c\tau}$$

Here τ and τ0 are ring-down times with and without samples, respectively. They are of the order of micro seconds, and can be determined accurately. This method allows the use of near infrared laser sources. Even on weak infrared transitions of low-pressure gas molecules, sufficient detection sensitivity and dynamic range (Fig.1 vertical axis) can be achieved. We proposes to use a frequency locked CRDS technique, LL-CRDS, which allows controlled scan of laser frequency over 1 GHz (Fig.1 horizontal axis). We believe that LL-CRDS can be advantageous in determining kB.

We are developing a high precision setup of CRDS, and have already realized a detection sensitivity of 10-11/cm (equivalent to direct optical absorption path-length of several thousand kilometers) and frequency precision of 1 kHz. The temperature control is at the level of 1 mK. Preliminary results indicate a statistical uncertainty of kB at 10 ppm. At present, we are building a CRDS setup using a narrow-line diode laser and a cavity temperature at the triple point of water (273.16 K). The transition of CO molecules at 1.6 um is probed. This high-precision method can also find applications in studying molecular collisions, detecting forbidden transitions, and trace analysis for environmental applications.

Fig.1 CRDS and the Doppler width of an absorption line

相关文献


  1. Mills, I. M.; Mohr, P. J. ; Quinn, T. J.; Taylor, B. N.; Williams, E. R. “Redefinition of the kilogram, Ampere, Kelvin and Mole: a proposed approach to implementing CIPM recommendation 1 (ci-2005),” Metrologia 2006, 43, 227–246.
  2. Sun, Y. R.; Pan, H. Cheng, C.-F.; Liu, A.-W.; Zhang, J.-T.; Hu, S.-M. “Application of cavity ring-down spectroscopy to the Boltzmann constant determination”, Optics Express 2011, 19(21), 19993–20002. [DOI]
  3. Cheng, C.-F.; Wang, J.; Sun, Y. R.; Tan, Y.; Kang, P.; Hu, S.-M. “Doppler broadening thermometry based on cavity ring-down spectroscopy”, Metrologia, 2015, 52, S385-S393. [DOI]

玻尔兹曼常数的光学测定


玻尔兹曼常数kB是物理学中最基本的几个常数之一。目前,国际科技数据委员会(CODATA)的kB推荐值为1.380 648 8(13)×10-23 J K-1,相对标准不确定度0.91ppm。国际计量委员会(CIPM)计划根据近期的测量值将波尔兹曼常数重新定义为无误差的常数,并基于此常数值重新定义热力学温度单位开尔文,以取代当前基于水三相点的定义。为了避免单一测量方法可能造成的系统偏差,国际计量委员会单位制咨询委员会和温度咨询委员会要求,kB的重新定义应该基于两种以上独立方法测量的结果。然而,当前在1ppm不确定度水平上,基于声学共振测量的AGT方法在CODATA的kB推荐值中占据绝大部分的权重。利用原子分子吸收光谱谱线的多普勒展宽(DBT)测定kB,是一种新的光学测定方法。该方案的基本思想很简单,就是利用处于热平衡的低压气体分子的光谱跃迁,其多普勒展宽ωD(半高全宽)为:

$$\omega_{D}=\nu_{0}\sqrt{\frac{8k_{B}Tln2}{mc^{2}}}$$
其中,ν0为谱线中心频率,T为气体温度,m为分子质量,c为光速。在水三相点附近精密测量原子或者分子跃迁的多普勒展宽ωD,有望将kB测定到ppm(10-6)甚至更高精度。

传统的激光直接吸收光谱方法基于Beer吸收定律 I = I0exp[-α(ν) L] 获得吸收谱线吸收率α(ν)的线形,再通过线形拟合得到其线宽等参数。对于分子振转跃迁,由于测量灵敏度有限,需要使用较高的样品气压(102Pa),这将不得不考虑分子碰撞导致的十分复杂的线形修正。然而,迄今为止,所有的碰撞线形理论都从未在ppm精度水平上被检验过,其结果的可靠性以及进一步提高精度的可能性存在疑问。原子或分子的电子态跃迁较强,可以在低气压条件下测量,但由于会受到环境电磁场干扰、超精细结构、激光功率加宽等效应的影响,其多普勒加宽的准确测定也存在很大的技术困难。

光腔衰荡光谱方法(CRDS)是通过测量光腔输出光的衰荡时间(ring-down time)来测定吸收率:

$$\alpha(\nu)=\frac{1}{c\tau(\nu)}-\frac{1}{c\tau}$$
其中τ和τ0分别是有/无样品时测得的衰荡时间,为微秒量级,可以准确测量。该方法能够使用性能优异的近红外激光光源,即使对于低压气体分子较弱的近红外跃迁,也可达到足够的测量灵敏度和动态范围(图1光谱纵轴);我们还提出了结合激光锁频技术的光腔衰荡光谱方法(LL-CRDS),使得在大范围(GHz)光谱扫描时,一直保持激光频率锁定,从而可以实现足够的频率精度和动态范围(图1光谱横轴)。因此我们提出,LL-CRDS方法在测定波尔兹曼常数上具有很大的优势。

目前,我们所搭建的高精密的光腔衰荡光谱测量装置已经实现探测灵敏度达到10-11/cm水平(相当于直接吸收光程达数千千米)、光谱测量精度达到kHz水平。并实现了光腔的1mK级温度控制。初步的光谱测量实验表明统计不确定度好于10ppm。目前正在搭建精密控温到水三相点(273.16K) 的基于窄线宽半导体激光的CRDS装置,将通过测量CO分子在1.6微米的振转跃迁,来实现ppm精度水平的光谱线形测量和玻尔兹曼常数kB的光学测定。这种高精度的光谱测量技术,除了是一种测量绝对温度的方法之外,还会在分子碰撞理论、“禁戒”跃迁测量、痕量探测等领域产生一系列全新的应用。

图1, 光腔衰荡光谱与吸收谱线多普勒展宽

相关文献


  1. Mills, I. M.; Mohr, P. J. ; Quinn, T. J.; Taylor, B. N.; Williams, E. R. “Redefinition of the kilogram, Ampere, Kelvin and Mole: a proposed approach to implementing CIPM recommendation 1 (ci-2005),” Metrologia 2006, 43, 227–246.
  2. Sun, Y. R.; Pan, H. Cheng, C.-F.; Liu, A.-W.; Zhang, J.-T.; Hu, S.-M. “Application of cavity ring-down spectroscopy to the Boltzmann constant determination”, Optics Express 2011, 19(21), 19993–20002. [DOI]
  3. Cheng, C.-F.; Wang, J.; Sun, Y. R.; Tan, Y.; Kang, P.; Hu, S.-M. “Doppler broadening thermometry based on cavity ring-down spectroscopy”, Metrologia, 2015, 52, S385-S393. [DOI]